Tuesday, November 30, 2010

'Gasoline Rainbows' Compilation To Benefit Gulf Residents

As the year comes to a close, it's hard not to be reminded of the extraordinary disaster caused by the Deepwater Horizon and the subsequent oil "spill" (though I hardly think "spill" covers it) in the Gulf Of Mexico. An organization called Global Green USA has teamed with a bunch of amazing artists for a compilation called Gasoline Rainbows, out today on Roark Records. The album is being sold exclusively as a digital download via iTunes, but you can preview much of it here.

From the press release:
The compilation was brought together by actress Sophia Bush and actor Austin Nichols, most well known for their roles on the television show One Tree Hill. Sophia and Austin travelled, with Global Green, to Grand Isle, Louisiana, to visit the beaches and see the devastation wrought by the Deepwater Horizon spill first hand. Moved by the stretches of oil along the once-beautiful beaches, as well as the devastation to the wildlife, they decided to help in whatever way they could, and this compilation is a direct result of that.

100% of the artist and label proceeds from Gasoline Rainbows will be used for Global Green's oil spill response to directly assist the communities, people, and ecosystems impacted by the BP Oil Spill, educate the public, push for more regulation (to ensure a tragedy like this never happens again) and advocate for a greener, cleaner economy.

The album has some great picks from some of our favorite indie artists, as well as three previously unreleased tracks. Great music, Great cause. win/win.

1. "Gasoline Rainbows" - Amy Kuney*
2. "Armistice" - Phoenix
3. "40 Day Dream" - Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros
4. "There's No Secret's This Year" - Silversun Pickups
5. "At The Birds Foot" - City and Colour*
6. "The Connoisseur of Great Excuse" - Damien Rice*
7. "Bloodbuzz Ohio" - The National
8. "Tighten Up" - The Black Keys
9. "Let The Time Roll By" - Onward, Soldiers
10. "Moth's Wings" - Passion Pit
11. "Floating Vibes" - Surfer Blood
12. "Mama Taught Me Better" - Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
13. "I Can Change" - LCD Soundsystem
14. "Cousins" - Vampire Weekend
*Brand new material

No comments: